Sugarless banana coconut & date cake

Recently, we have attempted to reduce our sugar intake. Might not show as much through what I still post… lol.. but we are not totally off sugar. We have decided to adopt the 80/20 rule where we allow 20% of our intake to contain sugar but where we can, we will reduce or avoid it.

This can be a bit challenging when it comes to baking so I looked at alternatives. This cake is sweetened by the banana, coconut, dates & honey. 

I firstly mash 6 large bananas with honey & melted butter. I then add 4 eggs & a cup of milk to the mixture. Then I add 2 cups of self raising flour and a cup of shredded coconut.  Then I also add finely chopped dates & walnuts to the mix. 

I intentionally made more of the mixture than required for my cake tin as the cake was for a dinner which we were going to & the rest, I turned into muffins for work. 

Bake at 180 degrees celcius for about 40 minutes till it is golden brown. Rest for an hour & it is ready to decorate or serve as is. We served our’s with some thick vanilla yogurt! 


Leave a Reply

