Toffee Apple Muffin

One weekend, I made caramel by melting butter & brown sugar in a pot on the stovetop & once melted & combined, I stirred in some thickened cream till combined & glossy. It can be used as a topping for desserts, a spoonful treat on its’s own or stir it with popcorn & make caramel popcorn. The leftovers, I kept in an airtight container in the fridge & used it for other occasions such as this. 

I made a basic muffin batter of butter, sugar, eggs, milk & self raising flour. To it I added chopped green apples. I love using green apples with caramel as the tartness of green apples helps balance out the sweetness of the caramel. 

Then in each muffin cup, I scoop in 1 1/2 scoops of batter, 1 tablespoon of caramel & topped with another scoop of batter. Then sprinkle some oats on top. 

When it bakes, the caramel will ooze through the batter & make a chewy top & centre of the muffin yet allowing the muffin to hold its shape. 

Leave a Reply

