Citrus & ginger self saucing pudding with creamy vanilla Greek yogurt


This was a bit of an experiment which kinda failed yet turned out good. 

So first I cream butter, brown sugar, the zest of 2 oranges, 3 lemons & grated fresh ginger, then add 2 eggs followed by cinnamon & 2 cups of flour. Then I juice the oranges & lemons & add some hot water to make about 3 cups full. Then stir in some brown sugar till dissolved & pour a cup & half over batter. Place batter in oven for about 30 minutes. 

This was where I failed… I was running late as I made this dessert to bring over to a friend’s for dinner & so I ran upstairs to shower & get ready quickly. By the time I got back downstairs, the top of my pudding was burnt but the rest were perfectly cooked with caramelised bits. So off the top layer came & thankfully I had the rest of the orange juice, lemon juice, hot water & brown sugar mixture, took that along with me & poured it over the top when I got to my friend’s & placed it in their oven at 100 Celsius while we had dinner. It came out with like a marmalade glaze & caramelised corners! Tasted like marmalade too with a hint of ginger & was perfectly paired with the creamy vanilla Greek yogurt! I reckon Paddington Bear would have been proud! 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Looks delicious and easy to make!

    Sabrina 🍒🌴🌻
    http://www.OrganicIsBeautiful.com

Leave a Reply

