Chicken & vege dumplings with soy noodles

  
The beauty of having some things pre-prepared is that it can be cooked quickly. Whenever I chop up vegetables for anything in particular, especially if I am making a big stirfry or veggie parties, I always prep a lil extra that I can freeze in ziplock bags. 

Then on busy nights when I get home late or have people over on a week night, that is one less thing to prep. 

We were having a friend over for a catch up after work & I came home with chicken mince & dumpling skins from the shop. Taking out a bag of frozen shredded veggies, I defrosted it in a bowl in the microwave for 2 minutes while I got changed out of my work clothes. Mix it with the minced chicken, a dash of Chinese rice wine, soy sauce, sesame oil & finely grounded white pepper, mix it together & put it aside. 

Boil 2 pots of water. As the water is boiling, I wrap my dumplings. Once the water has boiled, place the dumplings one at a time & not too many so that it doesn’t get too crowded in the pot to cook. When it is cooked, the dumplings will rise to the top & you can then scoop it out with a slotted spoon. I usually have a bit of water in the serving bowl to prevent them from sticking together. 

In the other pot of boiling water, I cook up some fresh egg noodles that I had in the fridge (takes about 2-3 minutes). In a serving bowl, mix up sweet soy sauce, oyster sauce, molasses & sesame oil. Toss the noodles in the sauce & it is all ready to serve. 

Quick & easy but makes a yummy impressive meal. 

Leave a Reply

